The 2022 ISASH Conference, From pastures to processing: Connecting people to elevate health and safety
across the food system, took place June 12 -16 at Colorado State University in Fort Collins, Colorado. This
year’s conference welcomed more than 130 attendees from five different countries including Australia, Canada, Nigeria, Sweden, and the United States.

Attendees gained knowledge from international ag safety and health perspectives through plenary panel
sessions, collaborative presentations, and many networking opportunities. Dr. Jennifer Lincoln, Associate
Director, Office of Agriculture, Forestry, and Fishing Safety and Health with the National Institute for
Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) served as this year’s keynote speaker and discussed cultivating
partnerships and propagating relationships to improve agriculture safety and health. Workshop themes centered around the following topics: diversity, equity, inclusion, and justice; mental health and stress assistance; youth safety and health; surveillance; machinery; COVID-19; technology; ergonomics, hazard identification (heat, exposures, livestock, etc.); extension and digital outreach; and research impact. On June 14, attendees had the opportunity to take part in one of four local tours. Finally, several members were honored and recognized during the annual banquet and endowment auction the evening of June 16.

16 students from nine different institutions earned scholarships to attend and present their work at the 2022 ISASH Conference. Scholarship awardees included from the University of Nebraska Medical Center: Marcela Carvajal-Suarez, Alexandra Farfalla, and He (Julia) Bai; from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign: Heather Vanheeswijk, Guy Aby, Kaleigh Barnett, and Shihan Li; from the University of Louisville – Jeanne Ward; from Colorado State University: Amanda Otamendi and Alissa Threatt; from the Colorado School of Public Health: Miranda Dally; from the University of Florida: Anna Gonzalez and July Nelson; from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln: Terence Irumva; from The Ohio State University: Molly Michael; and from North Dakota State University: Angela Johnson. Additionally, a new ISASH scholarship was created to assist with registration and travel expenses for a member attending from an underdeveloped country. Gift Udoh of Nigeria was selected as the 2022 recipient. A special thank you to the ISASH Endowment committee for their funding support of all scholarships and awards.

This year’s conference was made possible thanks to financial support from the following sponsors:

Platinum sponsor: John Deere.

Gold sponsors: The Central States Center of Agricultural Safety and Health (CS-CASH), North Carolina Agromedicine Center, and WCF Insurance.

Silver sponsors: Colorado State University Injury Control Research Center and Utah State University; Bronze sponsors Ag Health & Safety Alliance, AgriSafe, Network, Farmers Assuring Responsible Management (FARM), Great Plains Center for Agricultural Health, Gearing Up for Safety, National Children’s Center for Rural and Agricultural Health and Safety (NCCRAHS), National Farm Medicine Center, and Pacific Northwest Agricultural Safety and Health Center (PNASH).

Friends of ISASH sponsors: Colorado State University One Health Institute and The Northeast Center for
Occupational Health and Safety.

For 2023, an in-person conference is currently being planned in Tampa, Florida for the week of June 18 th. ISASH is a world leader in the development of agricultural safety and health professionals. ISASH membership brings together countless agricultural leaders throughout the world. Members include engineers, educators, insurers, physicians, nurses, veterinarians, statisticians, communicators, business leaders and others with extensive farm backgrounds. ISASH provides opportunities for sharing research and intervention programs, improving professional skills and knowledge, networking, and other supportive activities.

Learn more about the International Society for Agricultural Safety and Health at  Also, become a member to join the online networking platform